Me as a Teacher

What has been your role as a teacher?

I have worked in various teaching roles but most of my experience has been in teaching English to ESL/EAL students. I’m interested in teaching ICT in the future, which was one of the main reasons I chose this course. I’ve now come to understand that while NGL is greatly enhanced by digital tools, it is not defined by it.

While I did okey in school, I really appreciated and have great memories of the teachers who were passionate about what they did and went out of their way to support my learning needs. I hope to be the kind of teacher that I didn’t always have.

How have you used NGL in the past?

As I’ve taught predominantly overseas, most of the school settings that I’ve worked in were extremely structured and required teachers to use very traditional teaching methods. This was an enlightening experience as it allowed me to see the learning outcomes achieved through the use of these methods and the effects they have on learners as they progress through very rigid school systems. I came back to Australia to receive teacher accreditation so that I could work in settings where I had greater control over the teaching methods that I employed.

41b2ac0e59763bf8968b3ad334a67287
This English First online education tool offered no ability for students to communicate with their peers.

One experience I did have was an online educational game system implemented while I was working at English First in Jakarta. Students were able to practice the grammar and vocabulary they had learnt in class, at home. I believe students could compare their results and scores with one-another, though I don’t think there were any tools for communication or sharing of independent creations. I remember this simple system was a very big and expensive initiative to implement.

How can you see yourself implementing NGL in the future?

From my experience in this course so far, I can really feel the power that allowing students to share their work can have on motivating them. I feel great every time I share something new and receive feedback from my classmates. I’m a big believer in the dangers modern consumerist culture poses (Bond & Stuart, 1998). encouraging students to become creators is integral if “learning and personal development, as well as building self-esteem” (Briggs, 2014) are to be achieved.

I think use of various networking sites such as Flickr, Facebook, Youtube and Vimeo could be excellent tools to allow students to share and peer review one another’s work. Perhaps through the use of security features, students’ identities and privacy can be protected.

References

Bond, E. & Stuart, I. (1998). Edward Bond letters (p. 174). [S.l.]: Harwood Academic Publishers.

Briggs, S. (2014). Students As Creators: How To Drive Your Students To Be More Than Just Consumers – InformED. InformED. Retrieved 18 August 2016, from http://www.opencolleges.edu.au/informed/features/students-as-creators/

Leave a Reply

