Using the CLEM Framework: Examples and Model

For my final self-analysis post using the CLEM framework, I will address the last two components; examples and model.

clem 3

Examples:

What examples exist?

YouTube video tutorials have been most valuable for me.

I thought this finals match was a good example of various tactics (including cheating, as pointed out in the comments section). The white player demonstrates how to appear weaker in order to avoid attention from other players.

This video does a very good job of explaining the most common strategies for beginners. It lightly touches on some social engineering techniques to divert the attention of other players. I think deeper examples of strategies will involve more complex social engineering tactics.

What can you learn from those examples? 

Even at apparently “high level” play this game is very easy to follow. Unlike a game like chess, I think the tactics that players are employing are much easier to read. Many of the beginner strategies were things that I had learnt intuitively from simply playing the game. It was good to have some of my assumptions verified as effective tactics.

What makes a good example? 

For me, a good example focuses on demonstrating a small number of concepts. Concepts should be shown clearly with explanations or examples of their outcomes. Secondly, pre-assumed knowledge of strategies and technical terms is kept to a minimum. Lastly, examples should be entertaining to maintain my attention.

What makes a bad example? Are there examples applicable to you?

A bad example would demonstrate play that displays little understanding or use of gameplay strategies. While commenters of the first YouTube video that I posted pointed out that one of the players cheated multiple times, I think this is still a valuable example because it showed me common methods that other players may employ to cheat. This will help me be more aware of cheating tactics in the future. I won’t be employing these tactics myself as I’m a player that gains no satisfaction when a victory is achieved unfairly.

Model:

What else do you need to look for?

Since moving, I’ve lost my network of friends that I often played board games with. I need to link up with a new group to “put into action” what I have learnt.

Can you find it?

There are numerous board gaming groups around, but I need to find the one that suits my personality. Many of these groups focus heavily on the role-playing elements of board games where as I prefer to focus on the strategy behind them. I have found some university clubs that might suit my needs.

Leave a Reply

